I fail at blogging

Yikes. 

Things have been pretty busy around here.  During the months of August and September I was busy planning a surprise birthday party for my mom (it worked – she was very surprised!!!) that brought together friends, family and coworkers.  It was so much fun!  But took up a bit more of my time than I thought it would.

The kids also started up with swimming lessons again and Blake started soccer.  So our weekends are a bit more hectic than they had been this summer.

From where I last left off…  We spent Labor Day weekend up north and saw Kites on the Lake:

IMG_2944IMG_2957

Hannah ended up completely soaked:

IMG_2951

We also went apple picking:

IMG_2991IMG_3003

At the beginning of the month I spent a long weekend visiting my friend Leah in New York City.  My friend Erica and I flew out for an extended girls’ weekend and had a BLAST!  The weather was gorgeous so it was great to be able to spend so much time outdoors and walking through the city.  I wish I had worn a pedometer or my Nike+ just to see how many miles we put on.

  • We ran around Roosevelt Island (where Leah lives)
  • We ate delicious pizza, cupcakes (I tried 3 different bakeries!!!), Asian-fusion, crepes, bagels… basically I ate my way through the city!
  • We walked across the Brooklyn BridgeIMG_3061IMG_3065IMG_3074
  • Walked through Central Park and the High LineIMG_3076IMG_3106
  • Saw some art

IMG_3122IMG_3133

  • Did the touristy Times Square and Rockefeller Center thing

IMG_3141IMG_3151

I had a really great time and it made me realize just how lucky I am to have such wonderful friends!!!

While I was gone my parents came to visit the kids and they had a pretty good time, too!

IMG_0740IMG_0744IMG_0765

Funny story – while I was gone they had a bonfire and toasted marshmallows for S’mores.  My  mom laid out a tray of graham crackers with chocolate squares on them – all ready for the toasted marshmallows.  She make the mistake of leaving the tray unattended and when she went back she found out that Hannah had eaten 3 of the 5 pieces of chocolate.  Little girl sure takes after her mommy with that sweet tooth Smile

Last weekend my family was visiting for an early birthday celebration for my sister before she heads out for a 3-week trip in Asia.  This weekend I am taking the kids with me to visit my parents and go on the girls only holiday shopping trip (what?!? This seemed to be the only weekend that worked for everyone’s schedule…)

It’s been hectic but very fun – the year is flying by!  I’ll end with this – one of my favorite pictures from the trip.  A view of the NYC skyline near sunset from the rooftop at the Met.  Wow!

IMG_3127

Leave a Reply

