Because that resolution didn’t go so well

So much for updating the site on a regular basis! (And I don’t think the ‘maintain weight loss’ resolution is doing all that great either…but I’m ignoring that…)

So – where were we?

Last weekend Brian and I went to the corporate headquarters for a Junior Achievement Trivia night.  It was a pretty fun night – and Brian’s team took 2nd place out of 54 teams!  It definitely felt strange to drink wine in the cafeteria at work, though.  And next year if we sign up we’ll both sign up to be on a team – it was sort of lame to just hang out while the trivia was going on.  BUT!  We won two things in the auction/raffle.  A year of bread from Panera (a loaf a month) and a photography session with a professional photographer from Chicago.  I’m so excited about the photographer – she does a lot of work with children so I’m hoping when the weather gets  nicer we can get her to take some nice pictures of the kids outdoors.

What else…

I have officially started my training for the 1/2 Marathon.  Right now is the fun/easy part so I’m not minding it so much.  Last weekend I ran home from swim lessons and during the week Brian dropped me off at the Y and I ran home again.  Luckily the weather has cooperated with my long-ish runs so I’m hoping that continues.  It’s not so bad to run 3 miles on a treadmill but when it gets to be more than that I’d much rather be doing something else.  For whatever reason running 5 miles outdoors is much more manageable.

I’m also thinking about signing up for Crazylegs at the end of April but I’m not quite sure…  There’s some talk of some training for work needing to be conducted in Singapore and for whatever reason I might be on the short list to do that.  I don’t even know what to think at this point so I’m sort of just not thinking about it.

Things aren’t going all that much better in the sleep department with Hannah.  We have good nights and we have bad nights.  And I can’t seem to figure out if there is a real reason for that or if it’s just a fluke.  We tried a mostly formula day yesterday thinking maybe it’s been something I’m eating but that didn’t seem to make much difference.  I’m frankly out of ideas.  And hoping that she starts to sort it out on her own – and soon!  The thing that scares the bejezus out of me is thinking that she doesn’t have any teeth yet (which, what?!?  10 1/2 months and not a single tooth?!?) so I’m really hoping that we don’t get the sleep thing figured out only to start teething!  Gah!  I know that when you are expecting a baby or you’re a new parent people tell you that you need to be prepared to have some sleepless nights.  But really?  I think I’m ready for that to change any day  now.  Brian had asked me when Blake started sleeping through and I told him 16 months.  His response?  “So only 6 more months, then.”  My response? “ONLY 6 more months?!”

Hannah's new favorite activity

Hannah's new favorite activity

And Blake…  Blake has been somewhat challenging this week.  To the point they mentioned it at daycare.  It seems he’s got a little attitude in him.  Which great – strong minded is good, right?  But not so good when the simple act of someone going up the stairs first (instead of him) causes a screeching and screaming fit so loud and intense that you notice the next day that he seemed to have burst some capillaries near his eyes.  So yeah.  Challenging is putting it lightly.  And yet -when he’s good he is SO good and so much fun to be with.  I guess we’ll keep him 🙂

One thought on “Because that resolution didn’t go so well

Leave a Reply

