Because that is *not* a good night of sleep

Last night I went to bed around 10:10.

I woke up at 10:40 because Hannah was crying.

I went back to sleep at 11:00.

I woke up at 1:10 because Hannah was crying.

I went back to sleep at 2:00.

I woke up at 3:00 because Hannah was crying.

I went back to sleep at 3:30.

I woke up at 4:55 because Blake was up.

I went back to sleep (sort of) at 5:10.

I woke up again at 5:30 when Blake and Brian got up to eat breakfast.

I went back to sleep at 5:35.

I woke up again at 6:10 for the day.

~~~~~~~~~~

I don’t even know how much sleep that was.  All I know is  that it wasn’t enough.  And last night was more the rule than the exception.

I keep telling myself that it will get better but then in the back of my mind I remember that Blake didn’t stop waking up at night (reliably) until he was 16 months old.  Let me repeat that.  16 months old.  Don’t I have some good sleep karma coming my way?  Seriously? She was sleeping better at 5 months!

A while back we tried the “extinction method” with Hannah and I? Wanted. to. die.  I got no more sleep than I would have had I just gotten up and tended to Hannah.  And she was like a little zombie baby the next day (to the point that daycare even remarked that she had a really off day).  I just can’t bring myself to try that little ‘experiment’ again.  And so this is where we are.  And this is where we will be until she figures it out and just starts sleeping, I guess.  I have read nearly every sleep book out there and they all say variations of the same thing while also seeming to contradict one another:

  • “Put them down awake.”
  • “Wait until they are fully asleep and put them down in the crib making sure their feet touch first.”
  • “Put them down and shut the door and don’t go back until morning.”
  • “Put them down and go back at increasing intervals”
  • “Put them down and go back but don’t pick them up.”
  • “Put them down and go back and pick them up and soothe them again.”

Seriously?  And obviously I’m not the only parent out there who’s child does not want to sleep alone in her crib the ‘way they are supposed to’ because there’s an entire industry devoted to helping parents get their children to sleep.

I don’t really have a point.  Other than to say that I am tired.  And I’m expecting I’ll be tired for quite some time.  (And if I was smart I would probably realize that I should go to bed before 10:00 in the first place but me?  Often times I am not smart).

Oh – and we are going to go see Avatar in 3D IMAX tomorrow.  I had better be blown away by this movie because $30 for two tickets?  What the hell!

AND – Blake?  Has been wearing ‘big boy undies’ to daycare since Tuesday and has had 2 accidents total.  Both on Wednesday.  I guess he was ready and we just needed to suck it u and take the plunge.  Hooray!

One thought on “Because that is *not* a good night of sleep

  1. Ugh– my Harry was a bad sleeper until well after his first birthday. Jack was a great sleeper, and we did nothing differently. I don’t think there’s anything you can do, as terrible as that sounds. How was Avatar?

Leave a Reply

